go to Navigation

Underqraduate School

Department of Folklore

[Introduction of Department]

We must succeed in developing and recreating our national culture in order to overcome the contradictions formed by the industrial structure and the side effects of mass media. The studies which are to inherit and preserve Korean culture and do research on it are generally called Korean studies. Folklore is the centerpiece of Korean studies and therefore an essential part of the general knowledge of our national culture. National culture gives value to the existence of our nation and provides guidance for a healthy life as a human being by authenticating our national homogeneity and commonality. Therefore, folklore majors do academic research on the essence and value of the traditional folk culture of the Korean while collecting and preserving materials about Korean culture. It is the ultimate goal of this major to produce talented people who will succeed to the essence and value of Korean folklore, develop them, and create a new national culture of its own.

[Office]
- Address
: Department of Folklore, Andong National University, (Songcheon-dong) 1375 Gyeongdong-ro, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do, KOREA
- Phone
: +82-54-820-5380
- Fax
: +82-
- E-mail
: folklore@andong.ac.kr
- Homepage
: http://folklore.andong.ac.kr
[Faculty]
Position Name Academic area E-mail Telephone
ProfessorLim, Jae-HaeFolk Culture & Artlimjh@andong.ac.kr+82-54-820-5383
ProfessorChun, Hye-SukFolk Culture & Artfeminite@andong.ac.kr+82-54-820-5386
ProfessorHan, Yang-MyungSocial Folk Customsludence@andong.ac.kr+82-54-820-5616
ProfessorBae, Yung-DongMaterial Cultureydbae@andong.ac.kr+82-54-820-5381
ProfessorLee, Sang-HyunSocial Folk Customsshl1506@andong.ac.kr+82-54-820-5351
ProfessorLee, Young-BaeFolklorelyb70@andong.ac.kr+82-54-820-6403
ProfessorYi, Yong-BhumKorean Folk Religionyybfolk@andong.ac.kr+82-54-820-5385