go to Navigation

Underqraduate School

Department of Earth and Environmental Science

[Introduction of Department]

The study comprises physical and chemical characteristics of the earth, the geological phenomena occurring inside and outside the earth, and the evolutionary history of the earth. The objective of this study is to provide useful information about past geological phenomena, possible future geological phenomena, efficient exploitation of territories, finding underground natural resources and water, and natural disaster prevention. Students who complete this course of education will obtain a level-two teaching certificate and also be qualified to receive a level-one engineering license in the fields of applied geology, lapidary, environmental water quality, underground water, and gemology. Also, there are many opportunities to work for the Korean Institute of Geosciences and Mineral Resources, Korea Basic Science Institute, Korean Ocean Research and Development Institute, North Pole Research Institute, Korea Resource Corporation, Korea National Oil Coorporation, Korea Coal Coorporation, Korea Water Resources Corporation. They can be employed by various public sectors, natural science and history museums, geology related natural resource development, construction, or research companies based on each student’s talents.

[Office]
- Address
: Department of Earth and Environmental Science, Andong National University, (Songcheon-dong) 1375 Gyeongdong-ro, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do, KOREA
- Phone
: +82-54-820-5467
- Fax
: +82-54-822-5467
- E-mail
: geology@andong.ac.kr
- Homepage
: http://ees.andong.ac.kr
[Faculty]
Position Name Academic area E-mail Telephone
ProfessorHwang, Sang-KooPetrology, Volcanologyhwangsk@andong.ac.kr+82-54-820-5469
ProfessorLee, Dong-JinPaleontologypaleolab@andong.ac.kr+82-54-820-5471
ProfessorJeong, Gi-YoungMineralogy, Geochemistryjearth@andong.ac.kr+82-54-820-5619
ProfessorKang, Ji-HoonStructural Geologyjhkang@andong.ac.kr+82-54-820-5474
ProfessorJeong, Gyo-CheolEngineering Geology, Rock Mechanicsjeong@andong.ac.kr+82-54-820-5753
ProfessorJo, Hyung-RaeSedimentology, Marine Geologyhrjo@andong.ac.kr+82-54-820-5022
ProfessorKim, Jeong-JinEnvironmental Geologyjjkim@andong.ac.kr+82-54-820-5038